K-Pop & K-Drama

Taking a K-Pop Dance Class in Seoul as a Visitor

A free 40-minute class at HiKR Ground, an English group class at RKD in Hapjeong, or a ₩30,000 drop-in at 1MILLION in Seongsu: how to get a place at each.

A visitor can take a one-off K-pop dance class in Seoul without joining a studio. The free option is HiKR Ground by Jonggak Station: a 40-minute class for up to six people runs Tuesday to Thursday. Real K-Pop Dance (RKD) in Hapjeong teaches a 90-minute group class in English on Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays; its own group-class page takes no online bookings, so reserve by email or phone. 1MILLION Dance Studio in Seongsu charges ₩30,000 a class; if you have never danced, pick its Step By 1M sessions.

HiKR Ground Real K-Pop Dance (RKD) 1MILLION Dance Studio
Who runs it Korea Tourism Organization Private studio for travellers Private dance studio
Price Free Group US$50 (RKD site) or from ₩55,000 (VISITKOREA listing); private US$200 ₩30,000 per class
Length 40 minutes 90 minutes 80 minutes
When Tue, Wed, Thu: 11:00, 14:00, 16:00, 18:00 Mon, Wed, Fri 13:00 to 14:30 Several classes daily, mostly afternoons and evenings
Group size Up to 6 3 to 30 (Visit Seoul listing) Not stated
Language Not stated English Not stated (full-time staff speak English and Korean)
Booking Naver Booking or walk-in, first come Email or phone (no online booking on RKD’s group-class page) Website or app; walk-in if not full
Nearest station Jonggak, Line 1, Exit 5 Hapjeong, Lines 2 and 6, Exit 2 Seongsu, Line 2, Exit 3

Which K-pop dance class should a beginner take?

All three take complete beginners: HiKR Ground’s free 40-minute session, RKD’s English class (no experience needed) and 1MILLION’s Step By 1M. Choose by price, language and schedule:

  • You want to try it for under an hour and spend nothing: HiKR Ground. It is short, free and capped at six people. The catch is that it runs only three days a week and fills on a first-come basis.
  • You want a full lesson in English: RKD. It is the only one of the three that states English instruction, and its site says registration includes a certificate and photos and video of the class. It is also the only one that will not take you without a reservation, and for now that means booking by email or phone.
  • You already dance, or you want a class alongside Seoul’s regular students: 1MILLION. Its Learner classes are for beginners to intermediate dancers, and its Master classes are for experienced dancers. If you have never danced, book Step By 1M instead.

How do you join the free K-pop dance class at HiKR Ground?

Book the HiKR K-POP DANCE CREW session on Naver Booking, or turn up and ask at the sub-information desk on the 2nd floor of HiKR Ground. The class is free and lasts 40 minutes. Each session takes up to six people; places go by Naver booking or walk-in, first come first served. It is open to anyone aged 7 or over, and one Naver account books one person.

HiKR Ground’s October announcement says the class reopened on Tuesday, October 20, 2026, with sessions every Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday at 11 a.m., 2 p.m., 4 p.m. and 6 p.m., and that Naver bookings opened on October 20; the operating information on the booking page lists the same days and times. The announcement does not give an opening time or say how far ahead dates can be booked. Before the break, HiKR opened bookings at 3 p.m. on the last Monday of each month; the October announcement does not say whether that still applies. The “Program Schedule Guide” lower on the booking page still shows the older Tuesday and Thursday schedule with sessions at 14:00, 16:00 and 18:00; the October announcement and the page’s operating information are newer.

  • Arrive 10 minutes early. The booking page requires it, and if a booked participant has not arrived by the start, the place goes to someone waiting on site.
  • Meeting point: the sub-information desk on the 2nd floor of HiKR Ground, not the main tourist information centre.
  • Walking in: go to the 2nd-floor sub-information desk before the session starts. You get a place if fewer than six people booked, or if a booked participant has not arrived by the start time. Booking needs a Naver account; walking in does not.
  • Language: HiKR does not say which language the class is taught in; if you need English, ask at the 2nd-floor desk when you arrive.

Getting there: HiKR Ground is at 40 Cheonggyecheon-ro, Jung-gu, a 2-minute walk from Exit 5 of Jonggak Station (Line 1) and a 4-minute walk from Exit 2 of Euljiro 1-ga Station (Line 2). Floors 1 to 4, including the 2nd-floor class meeting point, are open Tuesday to Sunday, 10 a.m. to 8 p.m. (last entry 20 minutes before closing), and closed on Mondays. Entry to the building is free.

How do you book Real K-Pop Dance (RKD) in Hapjeong?

Reserve before you go; the Visit Seoul listing says RKD does not take walk-ins. RKD’s own group-class page takes no online bookings: it says the service is not available and shows no sessions in the next 7 days. The two Booking links on RKD’s booking page go to a Klook listing, or you can email realkpopdance@gmail.com or call +82-10-3445-2737 with your date and group size. Visit Seoul lists the group class on Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays, 1 to 2:30 p.m., for 3 to 30 people; the Korea Tourism Organization’s 2023 article on RKD gave a minimum of five.

RKD says its instructors are back-up dancers for K-pop singers, that the class is taught in English, and that no dance experience is needed. According to its group-class page, you learn the main part of one new K-pop song, and registration includes the 90-minute class, a certificate, and photos and video of the class. The VISITKOREA listing limits photos and video to private classes of three or more.

What it costs: RKD’s booking page prices the group class at US$50, while the Korea Tourism Organization’s VISITKOREA product listing shows a price from ₩55,000. A one-to-one private class of 90 minutes costs US$200, and you can request the date and time. RKD also sells a full-day package that adds agency and broadcaster visits (US$200). When you book, confirm which price applies, whether the class will run on your date, whether video is included, and the cancellation terms.

Getting there: RKD is in the basement of 42 Yanghwa-ro 11-gil, Mapo-gu, about 230 m from Exit 2 of Hapjeong Station (Lines 2 and 6).

How do you take a drop-in class at 1MILLION Dance Studio?

Buy a ₩30,000 ticket, then book online or walk in; either way you need a 1MILLION account with your photo uploaded to buy a ticket, and you scan your personal QR code to enter a class.

Booking ahead:

  1. Make an account on the website or app and upload a photo that shows only you; staff use it to check who you are when you enter a class. Under-14s need a guardian’s consent for portrait rights when registering.
  2. Buy a ticket. A single class costs ₩30,000. A 5-class pack costs ₩130,000 and a 10-class pack ₩240,000. A ticket expires 30 days after its access period starts; if you have not used it, the access period starts automatically 30 days after purchase.
  3. Book the class. Booking opens when a class is listed and closes 30 minutes before it starts.
  4. Scan your QR code at the entrance.

Walking in: with your account and photo set up, buy a ticket online or at the studio’s information desk, and join any class that is not full.

Which class to book: 1MILLION’s class types run from easiest to hardest:

  • Step By 1M: for people with no dance experience. It teaches one or two routines a month at a slower pace and repeats them every week, so any session works. It is not filmed.
  • Starter: basic technique with slightly harder steps than Step By 1M.
  • Learner: beginner to intermediate, for people who can already follow basic moves.
  • Master and Popup: intermediate to advanced. Popup classes bring in choreographers from outside 1MILLION.

The studio’s schedule also lists K-Pop Cover classes, which teach idol routines. All classes there last 80 minutes. The Step By 1M page lists sessions at 5:30 to 6:50 p.m. on Tuesdays and Thursdays and 3:30 to 4:50 p.m. on Saturdays and Sundays through November 15, 2026, plus one on Wednesday, November 11, at 5 to 6:20 p.m.

Language: 1MILLION’s full-time staff speak English and Korean, but the studio does not state the teaching language of each class; if you need English, ask the information desk before class.

Getting there: 1MILLION’s two studios are in one building at 33 Ttukseom-ro 13-gil, Seongdong-gu, 470 m from Exit 3 of Seongsu Station (Line 2); the schedule shows whether each class is in the 1F or 2F studio. There is no parking for visitors, so come by public transport.

Will you be filmed in a K-pop dance class in Seoul, and can you opt out?

Yes at HiKR Ground, where the session includes filming a short Reels-style clip and the booking page says HiKR may use participants’ photos and video. RKD says class photos and video are included, although VISITKOREA’s listing limits them to private classes of three or more. At 1MILLION only some classes are filmed and you can opt out: Step By 1M is never filmed; for other classes, book one without filming or tell staff before you go in.

What should you wear and bring to a K-pop dance class in Seoul?

Wear trainers and trousers you can move in. The Visit Seoul listing for RKD asks for shoes or sneakers and rules out high heels and flip-flops. The Korea Tourism Organization’s article on RKD suggests clothes that are comfortable to dance in and look good in photos, since the class is photographed.

At 1MILLION, bring your own water or drinks, and wear whatever clothes and shoes are comfortable; some routines need specific gear such as heels or knee pads. There are changing rooms and lockers, and a vending machine on the 2nd floor. The studio is not responsible for lost items in lockers and asks you to leave valuables at the information desk.

Can you cancel a K-pop dance class booking in Seoul?

At 1MILLION, cancel in My Account > Bookings at least 60 minutes before the class or you lose that class from your ticket; the same applies if you do not show up. Unused classes in a pack are partly refundable within 15 days of the start of its access period.

At HiKR Ground, the class is free, so there is nothing to refund. If you cannot attend, cancel your Naver booking; a booked place that is not taken up by the start time goes to someone waiting on site. RKD’s own pages do not publish cancellation terms.

Are there other free K-pop dance classes in Seoul?

No. As of October 21, 2026, HiKR Ground’s is the only free K-pop dance class we found among public programmes. Seoul Culture Lounge’s one-day classes for foreigners had no K-pop dance class in its November 3 to 7 timetable; its only dance class was Korean traditional dance on November 7. For Ktown4u and other K-pop shops, see where to buy official K-pop merch in Seoul.

If you would rather watch than dance, our guides to getting into a K-pop music show and buying K-pop concert tickets cover the audience side. YG’s theSameE is in Hapjeong and SM’s KWANGYA@SEOUL is in Seongsu; see the same merch guide. For getting around, see Naver Map and Kakao T in Seoul and the T-money card.

Steve OH edits Seoulpin. Steve runs Standardpin, a Seoul-based web studio that also builds websites for clinics; that work has no effect on whether or how any clinic appears here. Articles are drafted with AI assistance from the sources listed and reviewed by Steve before publishing. How we work